felted tote bag

My latest finished knitting project… a felted tote bag. I have to say that I’m pretty disappointed with how this turned out. It’s not the pattern’s fault; it’s my fault. I didn’t pay attention to the finished dimensions, and really, I would have liked it to be bigger. The size of the bag pre-felting was so misleading. Also, I didn’t catch the washing machine before it hit the spin cycle, and I think it spun too much, leaving creases/vertical lines throughout. Additionally, I would have liked the squares to actually be square and for the bag as a whole to have square corners, etc. I did block it with some books inside, but had a hard time shaping it right. Oh well, I’ll chalk it up to lessons learned.

Pattern: Little Slip Of A Thing by Diane Sutliff
Yarn: Malabrigo Yarn Merino Worsted in Geranio (44) and Cactus Flower (21)
Needles: US 13 and 15 circulars
Started: April 23, 2008
Completed: June 3, 2008

While I had knitting on my mind and some free time tonight, I also got around to testing out my new winder and swift. I wound the yarn I purchased at the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival about a month ago. Fun stuff…

This entry was posted in knit. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

