tmbg

Last night we went to see They Might Be Giants at Ramshead Live with friends Amy, Brian and Aileen. While I have known the bigger TMBG songs (“Birdhouse in Your Soul”, “Istanbul (not Constantinople)”, etc.), I have never owned one of their CDs or followed them much, but I knew that Craig really liked them and I thought I’d give them a shot. I learned that I actually recognized more of their songs than I had anticipated. They are really funny and entertaining, and I love their quirky lyrics. I did not know that the band is really only two guys (of course they perform with a back-up band) and that they share the lead singing duties. Anyway, it was a good show and a good time. We had a lovely meal at Lebanese Taverna before the show, and the combination of knitters and computer geeks worked out quite well for the dinner conversation. I even had a knitting crisis resolved by more seasoned knitters Aileen and Amy.

After a good meal and fine musical entertainment, the end-of-the-evening consensus was, however, that we are old. We were all aching and sore from standing and dancing around for a few hours. And tired. And complaining that our ears were ringing because it was too loud.

Yep, we’re just plain old. As TMBG would say (“Older“):

You’re older than you’ve ever been.
And now you’re even older.
And now you’re even older.
And now you’re even older.

You’re older than you’ve ever been.
And now you’re even older.
And now you’re older still.

This entry was posted in friends. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to tmbg

  1. Rob says:

    They might call me jealous. I so crack myself up and I haven’t even had a drink yet. 😉

  2. Kelly says:

    Heh, that even cracked me up, Rob. Just a little.

Leave a Reply

