uninterrupted prosperity

I have changed the name/title of my blog to “uninterrupted prosperity.” (Actually, I never really named it; I just couldn’t think of anything earlier.) Some may recognize this phrase as being pulled from Cake‘s “Short Skirt/Long Jacket,” where the singer describes his ideal woman. The second verse goes something like this:

I want a girl who gets up early
I want a girl who stays up late
I want a girl with uninterrupted prosperity
Who uses a machete to cut through red tape
With fingernails that shine like justice
And a voice that is dark like tinted glass
She is fast, thorough, and sharp as a tack
She is touring the facility and picking up slack
I want a girl with a short skirt,
And a long, long jacket

Anyway, as a longtime Cake fan, I have always enjoyed their clever, entertaining lyrics, and of course also their funky beats and interesting combinations of musical instruments. I mean, how often do you hear a trumpet in today’s rock/pop music? I love their political statements (I suppose I could have chosen a phrase from “Carbon Monoxide” instead), and they put on a heck of a good live show. We have seen them perform several times.

One might initially think of “prosperity” in the financial sense, but in this context, I think John McCrea is talking more about other types of wealth. In my view, he is describing a woman who knows she has what she needs and how to make it work for her. I am now viewing this as a mindset – one with uninterrupted prosperity is one who recognizes the many good things in life and doesn’t let the not-so-good stuff get her down.

There has been a major, lingering difficulty in my life as of late, and one way I have been trying to work toward resolving the issue is with the power of positive thinking. (Therapy doesn’t hurt, either.) I struggle with this, but I really believe that being positive can only help in the long run. I do know that I live a life of uninterrupted prosperity. I have a wonderful husband, loving family, friends, and pets, shelter, food, clean water, clothing, transportation, employment, and everything that a person needs to survive in this world (which so many people don’t have) – and then I have so much more. I really am a prosperous person. So, I’m going to try to keep that in mind as we move forward.

But, no, I will not be trading in my Mazda 6 for a white Chrysler Lebaron (third verse). Also, I know from watching way too many episodes of TLC’s “What Not to Wear” that short skirts and long jackets do absolutely nothing for my figure.

This entry was posted in blog, me. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to uninterrupted prosperity

  1. Beth says:

    cake lyrics crack me up, too. When I was in college “going the distance” came out and I used to sing it to myself while doing unlikely things like studying for master’s exams. Plus, a blog titled “short skirt” would attract a very different readership.

  2. mkwewer says:

    Dude! I thought your title was a Cake reference! That’s awesome…

Leave a Reply

