role model

Here she is, the former Pasqualina Elvera Cesare (just a little Italian!), or, as I call her, Grandma Vera. I visited her this weekend at her longtime home in Hammond, Indiana. At the age of 92, she still lives on her own – stubbornly so – and has a pretty good outlook on life. She has slowed down quite a bit, and she has some help on a daily basis, but she is still full of good stories from the past and loves to talk about her family. I hope I can live my life as fully as she has, and with such enthusiasm. It was really nice seeing her, if only for 36 hours or so. This photo was taken at the country club, where she took me for dinner. (Don’t worry, I drove!)

Posted by Picasa
This entry was posted in family, me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

