knitting

A couple of months ago, I took a beginner’s knitting class at Lovelyarns in Hampden. I had been intrigued by my friend Amy’s interest in knitting, and was also looking for a hobby that would be both relaxing and productive at the same time. (This makes me feel better about watching TV – I can at least be doing something with my hands while sitting there otherwise in an inactive state.) I learned the basics – knit, purl, cast-on, bind-off, etc. – and then dug into my first project: a winter scarf. Of course, I started this project in March, so I haven’t had a chance to actually wear my scarf yet! I think it turned out pretty well. It was a learning experience, and I was so eager to “finish” it that I think I skimped on the overall length. So, at some point, I am going to add another 6 or 8 inches to it – prior to scarf-wearing weather for sure.

My second (and current) project is a basketweave baby blanket from Knit Baby Blankets!. I was looking for something fairly simple, and since I know a zillion people having babies, I thought I would try this out. So far, so good. There are some flaws early on in the work, but I’ll call them character. This past weekend I took a class on fixing mistakes (again at Lovelyarns) and it was very helpful. Now I know how to fix most of those problems if I catch them soon enough (at this point, I refuse to unravel my work back to those early mistakes.) I have decided to give it to our receptionist at work, who is due with a baby girl at the end of August. I think I should be able to finish it in the next couple of weeks, since I’m thinking I am about 80% done. Oh, and this yarn (Classic Elite Premiere) is so wonderfully soft. It will be perfect for a baby.

Here is the work in progress (WIP in knitting lingo):
My next project (yarn already acquired, circular needles ordered!) is a scarf for Craig. My almost-34-year-old husband has requested a Harry Potter scarf. (See Hermione’s Gryffindor scarf for what it will look like.) I was a bit dismayed when he wanted the Slytherin scarf, because, you know, we don’t like those Slytherin jerks like Snape and Draco very much, but the colors are nice (dark green and light grey). This will be a big project, since the scarves are very long (down to the knees) and they are knit as tubes, meaning twice as many stitches are needed.

This entry was posted in knit. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to knitting

  1. Craig says:

    I’m 33! At least for a few more weeks!

  2. Kelly says:

    I said “almost 34.” 🙂

  3. Rob says:

    Ahem…I know some other people who wouldn’t mind one of those scarves as well. 😉

  4. Toni Owens says:

    My 31 year old daughter has also requested a Harry Potter scarf. I’ll be watching to see what you come up with! I took up knitting for the same reason as you did!

Leave a Reply

