a new regime

Rocky and I have decided to start a new weight-loss regime. I would like to lose 20 pounds, and Rocky is aiming to lose 2 pounds. (Yes, only 2 pounds – but that’s a lot for a 26.5-pound dog.) While both of us could probably stand to lose twice that much (or more), we’re trying to make reasonable, attainable goals so that we don’t get too frustrated in the process. Rocky’s a smart dog in that regard.

Our current plan is to reduce calorie intake and increase physical activity – the cornerstones of any weight-loss plan, right? For Rocky, reducing food means that he gets a flattened scoop of dog food (Wellness organic, natch) twice a day instead of heaping scoops. If only it was that easy for me. I’m going to try to make better choices and watch portion control for a couple of weeks, and then I imagine I’ll try Weight Watchers for the umpteenth time. We have already added a second (longer, faster) evening walk for just the two of us, in addition to our regular walk with Lucy and the couple days a week when I do my “Walk Away the Pounds” exercise DVDs (and I plan to make that a more regular occurrence). When it’s just Rocky and me, we can move at a good pace on a walk. Lucy would be thrilled to take a whole hour to walk around one block.

Anyway, I post my plan in this public forum in hopes that it makes me commit to it. I was pleasantly surprised when I stepped on the scale this morning to see that I actually was 5 pounds lighter than I had expected. That basically NEVER happens.

This entry was posted in dog, life, me. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a new regime

  1. Dale says:

    Good luck, I’m also changing habits. After sixty years I got an excellent blood report and decided I need to get rid of the backpacks I’ve been carrying my whole life. Atkin’s for me. Easy choices. I get more exercise in the summer so that helps.

  2. Craig says:

    Best of luck! I’ve given up on going to the gym until after I graduate.

Leave a Reply

